top of page
Search
  • WarmQuilts

365 Project - Day 336 and quilt stitching


We've turned the page of the calendar to December. This weekend marks Day 336 of my 365 Project - Buttons & Stitches. I took advantage of the sunshine coming through my studio window to sort through my button jar for 29 final buttons, although fewer buttons will actually be used. Stitch work is serving as filler for the open spaces.



These photos are taken at different angles to show the layering of stitches and buttons:




I am linking up with Kathy for some Slow Sunday Stitching - join me and check out the projects that others are working on.

A reminder about my inspiration for 2018:

Last year, I followed Ashley Hackshaw AKA Lil Blue Boo with her One Year of Stitches and Buttons - Embroidery Hoop 365 Project and Sara Barnes - Brown Paper Bag's One Year of Stitches as Seen Through One's Embroidery Hoop projects.

 

Over the last few weeks, I visited a quilt shop that has been closed most evenings when I've driven through town. There was a class in progress but I was able to purchase a couple of yards of fabric with typewriter keys that called out to me. Then, I took snapshots of older sewing machines and cabinets creatively displayed:




Down the street, a shopkeeper and I tried to unfold a worn quilt but the fabric was so threadbare we both felt that it might fall apart in our hands. She thought someone may have washed it before bringing to the antique shop. I took this close-up photo to show the hand quilting:


In the same shop, I spotted an 1800's French doll bed with a cute handmade doll quilt with vintage fabrics and buttons, and a pillow. It was hard to tell if they came into the shop together but they looked beautifully paired.



A sweet button and stitches project - a fitting way to end today's blog post. Wishing you the best of luck in completing all of your holiday projects.

XOXOX

Your buttons and stitches is so near completion! And that dolls bed and quilt is lovely, with its buttons and stitches. As you say a fitting end to your post! Sarah 12/3/2018

Thank you for following the progress of my buttons and stitches project, Sarah. I've been watching your progress, too, and am amazed at the beautiful variety of embroidery that you have worked on this past year. Well done!

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page