top of page
Search
  • WarmQuilts

Google Doodle


A Google Doodle is a special, temporary alteration of the logo on Google's homepages that commemorates holidays, events, achievements, and people. As well as celebrating many well-known events and holidays. Google Doodles are known for celebrating several noted artists and scientists on their birthdays. (from Wikipedia)

Note: Google Doodles honor only people who have passed.

I did a search in the Google Doodle archives for anything related to sewing, quilting, embroidery, knitting, crocheting, fabric artists, etc. Most of you will recognize William Morris and some may know of Maria Erika Olofsdotter Kruukka (see doodles below)



"REMEMBER THE QUILTERS: A Google Doodle Campaign"

Mary Fons informs quilters that:

Google says they’ve made more than 2,000 Doodles since 1998 and, since the feature feels like foundational branding/identity for the company, there will surely be many more thousands of Doodles to come.

No significant quilt-world person has been the subject of a Google Doodle and it’s time to campaign hard to change that. I’m totally serious, and we can absolutely do this, people. There is a process of nominating someone for a Google Doodle and I am officially calling all quilters and lovers of quilts to make this happen.

Getting Google to “doodle” an American quiltmaker or quilt scholar is not an insignificant endeavor. Why? Because history is what we make it and we can’t leave it to Google or anyone else who doesn’t know about our world to make that history without us.

Please read Mary's blog post HERE and read through her three nominations. Then VOTE on THE FORM that she has created to gather the votes. There is space on the form for a write-in. The person who gets the most votes will be the person that is officially nominate to Google for a Google Doodle!

Mary ends her post with these thoughts: This will be fun! So, share this post! Post it to Facebook, to Instagram, to Twitter, if you’re into that. Email the link to your guild. Let’s get the makers of the internet to recognize how important quilt culture is in America and how dearly we value those who pioneered, taught, led the way, and made our shared history a lot more beautiful.

 

I am sharing Day 63 progress of my 365 Project - Buttons & Stitches. As mentioned in a previous post, I've really enjoyed learning the feather stitch. It may eventually be covered with buttons, but I'll know it's there. I've lightly marked areas for more stitching, too.

This weekend, I added a metallic button. It had room to cradle another button so I'm back to stacking to keep making space for more. The holes don't always align when the buttons are stacked so they are anchored the best my stitches will hold them. I have several other metallics that will be added to my canvas as time moves on.


And, as you can see, there's room for even more layering:


I've also been pulling smaller buttons from my stash. I will share progress again on this project on Day 91.

It's back to piecing another quilt top and getting some other projects cleared from my work table.

Thank you for taking time to vote to Remember the Quilters! A Google Doodle Campaign.

XOXOX

Quilters definitely need a google doodle! I would find it very hard to just put a few stitches into a daily stitching project...I would want to keep going! Nice variety of buttons! Gail 3/11/2018

When I work on the stitches, Gail, I consider the area in one color as my "stitch" of the day. Like the area of blue french knots or the pink run of feather stitches. I must admit that I do have several buttons that I'm anxious to stitch in place, but I do only one each day.

XOXOX

I just love what you are doing with your buttons! And your feather stitch is very pretty. It's such an exciting project to watch develop. Have a good day. Sarah 3/5/2018

Your stitches are beautiful, Sarah. I will work on more stitches to fill in spaces. And, I'm wondering if I should begin stitching a border while there is space. I'm working in color clusters while your buttons and stitches are more randomly placed. We have different techniques but both are filling the space on our embroidery hoops.

63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page