top of page
Search
  • WarmQuilts

Feathered Nest Collection

This morning, I was reading about motivational poignant phrases. Several listed related to slowing down and enjoying nature. This one describes our current stage of life as my husband and I rebuild our home that was lost in the August 2020 fires:


Little by little, the bird makes its nest.” – Shreyashi Chakraborty

At times, the rebuild process has been slow and a bit overwhelming. With time off from work during the holidays, I've been available to make major design decisions to help keep construction on schedule. We have determined the color of our roof and gutters (all ordered and in-stock). Now, for installation, we await 4-5 days of sunshine. This will be delayed as California has been praying for rain and more rain - which finally arrived! Bathroom plumbing fixtures have been selected, as well as vanity mirrors and flooring. And, we agreed on the entryway tile, too. These tiny and big milestones are stepping stones in getting us into our new, comfy and secure nest.



The new Feathered Nest collection (ships February/March 2022) is characterized by exquisitely detailed multi-directional patterns showcasing charming chickadees and wispy feathers as well as delicate pussy willows and nests. A palette of cream, taupe, and brown is complemented by tranquil blues in a variety of values creating a mood of quiet serenity.


Surviving is important. Thriving is elegant.” – Maya Angelou

Progress continues on our home and I can begin to envision finished details in my sewing studio (see below). A quilting friend said the closet isn't big enough (are they ever?). I currently have 2 small boxes of fabric so will have plenty of time to find comfort in rebuilding my stash. I know that I will enjoy the natural light streaming in through the 6' wide window in the mornings. Soon, I will begin my online search for a work table or a look at room layouts from other quilters. If you have a website to share, please let me know.



As the hours at the computer, working on our Inventory List, come to an end - that will free me to continue on my button project. I will have time to upload photos and show you progress. And, I will also share the latest packages of buttons that I have received. The tiny buttons of joy in each envelope have been a treasure. I look forward to sharing them with you.


Here's wishing you a New Year of comfort, grace and elegance. Take good care of yourself!


XOXOX

41 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page